favourites, food, Spain

My favourite: Ca’n Joan de S’aigo, Mallorca

It’s time to round up my time in Mallorca with my favourite place in Palma: Ca’n Joan de S’aigo.


The café is well hidden in Ca’n sanç, an alley that tricks you into believing that it’s the wrong one, simply because it looks more ordinary and dull then any alleyway should be allowed to. One look at it and people are more then tempted to just turn around and try their luck somewhere else.

To be fair: The café really is the only thing of interest in this alley. Other then that, there is nothing but suspiciously silent flats and some theatre flags, that look so old and weather worn, I don’t believe in their promising sign of life anymore.

If you bravely venture on and follow the narrow alleyway, you will be rewarded with the goal of your quest: the entrance to ensaïmades paradise.

Ca’n Joan de S’aigo has been around for quite some time  – I confess, I lost the business card with the details, but I can recall that they made their money through cocoa bean trade. You can get gorgeous homemade cakes and tasty selfmade ice-creams there and of course the local speciality: ensaïmades with hot chocolate.

The pastries are fantastic and I already raved about the ensaïmades and the hot chocolate, but it’s the interior that turns this place into a gem. Despite the light being a bit of a nightmare for taking pictures, they still can describe the epicness of this place better then I.

While you get the odd tourist, mostly the people in there seem to be locals (us being the odd tourists); young people and old ladies enjoying their coffee with equal pleasure. The last time we were in there, we had a group of make-up artists sitting next to us. They were making a guy ready for some short of play/shooting. When they were done with him, he looked like he’d been in a very bad fight – and lost. My sister and I were quite fascinated with the process: it’s not everyday you can nip on hot chocolate while watching a group of women vividly dicussing fake blood to then rip open a man’s shirt.

About enjirux

I'm a twenty-something female who moved from Austria to Scotland in 2009. Formally addicted to coffee, the UK has turned me into a bit of a tea snob and made me discover lots of wonderful things, e.g. pies. While I love to do a lot of things like writing, taking pictures, baking, traveling and spending days lazing about, my current pay checks says language teacher and will continue to say so until 2013 where there will be no pay check but dust and snakes as I'll venture into Asia. But that's still quite some time away and meanwhile I'll share my thoughts and worries and pictures of pies and short trips with you while gleefully butchering the English language.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

On the Subject

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

