picture post, Spain

A bit of culture in Palma

Palma de Mallorca is a great city, with tons of things to do (and eat). It’s also a city that seduces you with hammocks.

On the way to my favourite café in Palma (which I’ll keep a secret for now) we always pass my favourite shop in the whole city. It sells hammocks and little else (or I’m blinded by the shiny and they really only sell two – could well be). I swear it’s the same hammock I fell in love with 4 years ago. Just look at this beauty (I’m talking about the shiny white one):


To be fair, this hammock rules because of its location: I probably won’t look at it twice if I had it in my backgarden (if I had a backgarden, that is – you can see the problem?). But let’s move on to the other things you can do in Palma.

To pass the time, you can do the obvious thing and walk around the city. You won’t be disappointed, Palma is a beauty and the center is very manageable by foot. Of course, when you’re into horses you can take a ride with one of the carriages.


But, being in Palma there is one thing every self respecting sightseer does: visiting the royal palace of La Almudaina.


It is absolutly stunning and my parents had to forcefully drag me away. They probably got tired of me getting crazy with my camera over that palace (and everything else). If you’re in Palma, visit it – because you’re worth it. (Or just snap a picture from the outside and send it to me. Thank you.)

To be honest, I thought of making this into two posts, but there are only so many ways you can see: it is stunning and you should visit it.

So here are my two cultural highlights of Mallorca, crammed together in one post. After you’re done oggeling the palast, let’s move one to Fundació Pilar i Joán Miró a Mallorca.

The museum is not in the city centre and we didn’t find it right away (probably because the driver (a family member that wants to remain unnamed) didn’t want to go) but here isa bus that brings you there and once you found the bus you won’t need to worry about one-way streets.


If you like Miró, you shouldn’t miss it. Apart from the exhibtion inside (which isn’t that big but nontheless interesting), there is a sculpture garden where you can wonder around and even have something to drink.

If you don’t know Miró and have some time to spare, you might want to just risk it. I mean, what’s not to like?

 

About enjirux

I'm a twenty-something female who moved from Austria to Scotland in 2009. Formally addicted to coffee, the UK has turned me into a bit of a tea snob and made me discover lots of wonderful things, e.g. pies. While I love to do a lot of things like writing, taking pictures, baking, traveling and spending days lazing about, my current pay checks says language teacher and will continue to say so until 2013 where there will be no pay check but dust and snakes as I'll venture into Asia. But that's still quite some time away and meanwhile I'll share my thoughts and worries and pictures of pies and short trips with you while gleefully butchering the English language.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

On the Subject

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

